Book Recommendations YA #1

Zom-B by Darren Shan

This book LITERALLY blew my mind.

I don’t say things like that willy-nilly, and I especially don’t mean it as a joke or an exaggeration when referring to this book in particular.

Zom-B took everything I’ve ever believed about every single part of it and turned that straight on its head. I thought I could never like a main character who was brash, aggressive, and always said exactly what they were thinking, usually to a rather callous degree, but B won me over. I never thought I’d really get into zombies or the threat of the real for-real end of everything, but now I actually shudder at the word “apocalypse.” And I never thought my supposed wide open-mindedness would ever fail me so utterly.

Yet, it did, and that’s why I’m telling you to get your hands on a copy of Zom-B right this ever-loving second! You’ll find a zombie apocalypse you’ve never envisioned, a villain far worse than you’d ever imagine, but still a sense of wonder in a world all but hollowed to the core.

As far as logistics go, this is the first in a series of twelve books, all of which are worth reading, but the initial one most of all. All of Darren Shan’s books run a tad on the short side in comparison to your typical YA novel, but Shan is a master craftsman who manages to end every single book in a way that makes you desperate for the next one. And, seriously, do NOT spoil yourself on what’s coming ahead for ANY of the books! You will truly regret it if you do.

Finally, if you were a fan of Shan’s from the Cirque du Freak series, you owe it to yourself to try out Zom-B. What Cirque did for vampires, B absolutely did for zombies: It revived a completely stale idea with a whole new twist, perspective, and a very different something to say.

I can honestly say, I’ve never been more fascinated by a clown.

Leave a Reply

